Chakras: An Overview

Before we really get into it, there is a lot of information out there on the chakra system but I highly recommend Intuitive Being by Jill Willard, some of the information provided below came from her book.


Let's start with what chakras are:

Chakras are points of energy in the human body. They keep us healthy and in balance. When a chakra is “blocked” you may experience physical symptoms. Below you will find a beginner’s guide to the chakras.



Root Chakra

Location: base of spine  

Color: red                           

Balanced: feeling supported, safe, and grounded

Imbalanced: joint pain, feeling insecure, flighty personality


Sacral Chakra

Location: below navel

Color: orange

Balanced: healthy relationships, healthy hormones, feelings of pleasure or joy

Imbalanced: addiction, overemphasized sexuality, infertility issues


Solar Plexus Chakra

Location: upper abdomen

Color: yellow

Balanced: feeling worthy, healthy digestive tract, trust in yourself, good sleeping patterns

Imbalanced: lack of self-worth, unhealthy digestion, feeling stress or fatigue


Heart Chakra

Location: Heart (obv) or center of chest

Color: green

Balanced: open to love, calm, able to forgive

Imbalanced: feeling isolated, feelings of panic, chest tension


Throat Chakra

Location: base of throat

Color: light blue

Balanced: healthy thyroid, ability to speak your truth, inspired

Imbalanced: thyroid issues, unwilling to speak up


Third Eye Chakra

Location: top of head

Color: dark blue

Balanced: open to humanness and the universe, intuitive

Imbalanced: neurotic, migraines


Crown Chakra

Location: top of head

Color: purple

Balanced: calm, centered, ability to tap into higher power

Imbalanced: spacy, tension headaches, delusional



There are a variety of ways to balance your chakras through yoga, meditation, cystals, and oils. I will be diving into how to use these things to help you balance your chakras in later blog posts!